Christina Gustafsson released her second album ‘My Move’ (Prophone) in April 2009. Half of the tunes on this CD are written by herself with lyrics by Cecilia Åse, Helena Davidsson and Stefan Danielsson. Her songs are rooted in jazz with influences from the American singer/songwriter tradition. The rest of the songs on the CD are Christina’s own arrangements of jazz standard favorites and the James Taylor’s hit Your Smiling Face. Co-producer is Pål Svenre, a well established name in Swedish popular music. Together with her musicians, the same musicians as on the debut album, Christina has established a personal sound which puts her in the top of Swedish successful jazz singers.

Christina released her debut album ‘Moments Free’ (Prophone) in 2007, an album that received great reviews by the critics. All music on the record is written by Christina with the exception ”Daydream” written by John Sebastian. On her debut album she has brought some of the most established musicians in Sweden. The guitar players Max Schultz and Erik Söderlind complete each other with great sensitivity and represents a major part of the albums character. Together with Calle Rasmusson (drums) and Martin Höper (bass) they performs the songs with great sense of style and there is place for both blues and a more lyrical approach. Pianist Daniel Karlsson appears on four of the tracks and adds his incredible energy and an never ending well of imagination. Christina produced this album together with Magnus Lindgren.

1994-1996 Christina lived in New York and studied at the Mannes College of Music. Here, she formed her first jazz quartet that played in clubs in Manhattan. Of the Swedish musicians Christina met in New York moved some of them to Sweden about the same time and with Karl-Martin Almqvist, Mattias Landaeus, Sebastian Voegler and Mattias Welin Christina formed in 1996 a Swedish quintet. The band played on jazz clubs in Sweden parallel with Christina’s studies to become a singing and improvisation teacher at the Academy of Music in Stockholm between 1996-99.